The Reveal


I recently published two posts; one was entitled A Test and the other A Test (Part 2). The first post was meant as satire – sorry folks, but it was a test! I assumed that the material contained in this first post, based around a positive thinking angle would receive more ‘likes’ over a shorter duration, and it did. The latter post was meant as a real life view of the world, and consequently it received lesser ‘likes’ over a longer duration.

I therefore can only assume this disparity of ‘likes’ has been due to the fact my second post didn’t regurgitate the usual positive thinking people tend to prefer. It actually questioned the motives and logic of such thinking. In it I refused to pander to the “peaches and cream brigade”, and didn’t falsely claim that such positive attitudes could, and would remedy all the bad people face in their lives (because this is an implausible claim to make). Perhaps therefore this disbelief of a life miracle instigated automatic dislike amongst people; as they prefer not to truly confront their own realities.

On a different note I do wish to mention my real deal, genuine and most active readers, which includes those who are always gracious enough to leave me a comment or ‘like’ one of my posts. These readers also contributed to the ‘likes’ generated across both of these posts. I thank them for their ‘likes’, and wanted to take time to state how much I value them as readers. I also wanted to state how much I value those readers here on WordPress with OPEN MINDS (becoming rarer all the time), and again thank them for their support too. They make writing on WordPress worthwhile as they can see both sides of the coin, and still smile.

4 thoughts on “The Reveal

  1. The truth is that many people will click on “like” from the Reader page, and they will not read anything. Those who really read posts will have something to say usually. It is the same on Facebook and other similar sites: it is very easy to click on like. Just because somebody else did or just because the person liked something of your stuff. I personally like a realistic approach which does not exclude normal positive feelings and optimistic attitude. This does not mean one has to become obsessed with happiness.
    I hope you have a nice weekend!

    • Thanks for your comment, appreciate it. It becomes a ‘like’ snowball effect; with bandwagon popularity. Me too; and that doesn’t signify I am dour, spiteful or somehow screwed up either! Thank you and you too!

Leave me your comments please, you know you want to!